Home

A number of thoughts arise that we put together around a central “I am” thought. Thoughts like “I am young”, “I am old”, “I am smart”, I am tall”, as well as thoughts which form a thought identity like “I am a husband” or “I am a lawyer” or “I am someone who owns a home”, etc. We join these thoughts together to create a thought identity. So do these thoughts have any substance?

If I ask you who is having these thoughts, you would probably say “me”. If I then asked you who is having this thought “me”, you would probably say “I am”. So now we are back to the “I am” thought. If you continue this line of inquiry you can see that ultimately it is just a thought.

There is no real you behind the “me” thought. It is just a thought!

– Ed Geraty –

Say something!

